You’re Welcome, Jessica Hilt

This blog is what happens when a sick day comes head to head with a flattering suggestion from a good friend. I recently provided real-time fashion support to Jessica while she was prepping for an important job interview. Our rapid-fire text exchange covered topics such as “when does a patterned tight make someone look mentally ill?” and “Actually, all blacks are not created equal, so buy your separates together.”

We don’t know yet if she has gotten the job, but we DO know that they are checking references, so the odds are in her favor (which is timely, given my excitement over the full-length trailer for The Hunger Games, which was released today)

She looked KILLER in her interview, and I can’t take any credit for her performance, but I know she felt like a Hot Corporate Lady (which is exactly the look we were going for) and that boost in confidence helped her to knock ’em dead.

Job interview makeup

"Let's talk salary, shall we?" said Jessica Hilt

What you wear is the first thing you tell someone about what you’re feeling that day.  Today I’m wearing leggings and a t-shirt and a box of kleenex.

I assume that this blog will simply be a place for me and Jessica to talk about fashion. But I’m eager to talk to other folks like myself… who shop at the mall, on a budget, for clothes that they need to wear to work, on dates, or to Target. I would love to see pics of what you are wearing (which is why I love blogs like Preppy with a Twist)

Jessica’s idea, which I totally support, is that you send me a question, and I try to answer it. Bingo bango bongo.

Onward and upward! Let’s do this!

black guess heels

I don't care if I need a tan - my shoes are hot.

About dhanamura

When I was ten years old, I owned a mustard yellow sequined dress that I got at a garage sale. I stuffed it with rolled tube socks so that I would look more glamorous. That year I also got my first bottle of Chanel No. 5. I felt beautiful in my room, in that dress, smelling like Chanel. What you wear matters. It makes you feel things... or helps you to express things you already feel. Your feet aren't firmly planted on the ground, they are crammed into a pair of shoes. Love those shoes, or take them off.

11 responses to “You’re Welcome, Jessica Hilt

  1. When DOES a patterned tight make one look mentally ill? Just curious. My question is, to the big party this weekend should I wear an above-knee black skirt/tights and riding boot combo with my sequin top and gunmetal short jacket? Or black jeans with cute flats? I might be dancing and need to take off the jacket. Also, should I wear a long necklace over the sequin top (also gunmetal, though much darker than the jacket), or just earrings? And finally, if you vote for skirt, should I wear black ribbed stockings? Or too much?

    • dhanamura

      I knew I could count on Katie for some good questions! You just set my editorial calendar for the next two weeks 🙂 For your party, what’s the purpose of the party and what time of day is it? Any chance that you can provide pics of the sequined top? (and I generally support long necklaces, so yes to that)

  2. Nicole Flores

    Please make your next entry be about the tights! I so want to hear your hilarious take on that!

  3. Morgan Graham

    When should you invest in a trend? Wait until it stays another season? Or hop on that band wagon asap? Like the summer scarves we saw this year… (which have to be the dumbest thing everrrr)

  4. Lynnea Fleming

    Fun blog! I love it! and Jessica always has great taste in Fashion! how fun to bounce ideas between two such fashionable, fancy ladies!

    • dhanamura

      Thanks! Jessica DOES have great taste! I’m excited to have a public forum where we can debate the merits of sequins and pin stripes!

  5. Dear Deb,

    I have been seeing a lot of commercials that show women in capes. I have always been a little unsure about this. While I appreciate the body forgiveness of a cape, I also can’t help but think of Ugly Betty when I see one. Are there good capes/bad capes? Sweater-style capes vs. coat-style? Belted? So confused! Please help, Deb! 🙂

Leave a Reply

