Refashion Show! Cardigan Update

I’m delusional. I bought a Small Petite sweater. At some point we will dive into my White Pants Habit (it’s a problem… I admit it freely) – but I also have a Pink Sweater Habit. And this pink sweater was never a friend to me.

You know that thing where you jam your size 10 feet into shoes that don’t fit, then clomp around hoping that no one will notice because you love the shoes and they only had one pair, and they were a size eight… Well I did that with this sweater. But luckily the internet was there to save me. The internet told me to cut my sweater up. So I did.

(I have this overwhelming desire to fit “cut a bitch” into this post, but I can’t figure out how to make it happen – feel free to incorporate the phrase into your comments!)

So if YOU have a sweater that can only be worn under scarves and jackets while standing, I encourage you to grab your scissors and cut yourself free of the oppression of short dumb sweaters (orchestra music swells).

Cardigan conversion

I'm rocking a side ponytail these days. No apologies.

I’m crafty, but I’m no Modern Homemaker, so I grabbed some pink fabric that was left over from Eleanor’s holiday stocking project, and used the thread that was already loaded on my sewing machine. I guess what I’m saying is that it looks better from about 10 feet away than it does up close, but that’s my fault because I’m impatient and didn’t want to go to a fabric store on Black Friday. Otherwise it was really easy and took about 1 hour from start to finish.

While I was at it, I also patched a hole in my jeans. Scroll down to see a picture of how that hole came to be. Notice that my pink sweater abuse goes back a few years (that is a different sweater, which I love.)  I patched the jeans with an iron-on denim patch applied to the interior. It took 5 minutes. The jeans have been sitting in my closet for 2 years waiting for me to get around to that little repair.

We were playing Twister... or WERE we?

I’m mildly fascinated by Refashion projects. I’ve been looking for great examples online, and honestly lots of them look a little, um, well, Nice Try. But the sweater/cardigan conversion is pretty easy and has consistently positive outcomes.  In other words, you cardiCAN do it. Zing!

This site might give you some inspiration. Same here.

So yeah… I’m crafty.

(Bruce’s feedback: “that picture looks like The Human Centipede”, and then he said “I’m a cardigAN, not a cardigAN’T” like George Lopez. The jokes just keep comin’, folks.)

About dhanamura

When I was ten years old, I owned a mustard yellow sequined dress that I got at a garage sale. I stuffed it with rolled tube socks so that I would look more glamorous. That year I also got my first bottle of Chanel No. 5. I felt beautiful in my room, in that dress, smelling like Chanel. What you wear matters. It makes you feel things... or helps you to express things you already feel. Your feet aren't firmly planted on the ground, they are crammed into a pair of shoes. Love those shoes, or take them off.

5 responses to “Refashion Show! Cardigan Update

  1. Morgan Graham

    Ha! FAN-cutabitch-TASTIC! This is pretty genius and does inspire me to go look in the closet this evening cause a girl can never have too many cardigans!

    This completely reminded me of a Patagonia Black Friday ad I saw today that I LOVED here: http://patagonia.typepad.com/files/nyt_11-25-11.pdf and also their “Reimagine” standpoint here: http://www.patagonia.com/us/common-threads

    I’m a culprit myself for a lover of new clothes, but there is something to be said for not forgetting about how to repurpose what we have, fix what’s loved, and send on good items to others. It definitely makes us rethink about those black shoes that may need to be replaced… or do they just in need a good splash of black leather shoe shine and they’ll be good for a few more months?

    Awesome post woman!

    • dhanamura

      Wow – I love your comment, Morgan! Who would have thought that my little fashion adventure would have such a delightful impact? I often ride that line between coveting some new beautiful thing, and wanting to rebel against the mall and demonstrate mastery over the things that I own. I recently read a quote, which I will paraphrase without attributing (because I brain farted) “Fashion is what you buy, and style is what you do with it.” Love that, right?

  2. Here’s what I love about this post. When I clicked on the link to see how the internet told you to upcycle the sweater, I was like PETER PAN COLLAR NO. I resisted the urge to quickly close the window like when there’s a naughty pop-up at work.

    But you took the information and applied it to your fashion sense and it looks faboo.

    I love cardigans and agree with Morgan that you really can never have enough.

    I, too, am fascinated by refashioned clothes. Mostly I have this idea of going thrift shopping and finding things I hate and making them into something I love. But, hello? I didn’t do this when I had free time. I am certainly not doing it now.

    • dhanamura

      Adding a collar amps up the refashionedness of the sweater, but I think that it was a little twee. Plus it added a layer of complexity that I wasn’t willing to address. I primarily sew in straight lines. So I could do some sort of geometric “modern” collar, purely as a way to avoid cutting and sewing symmetrical curves, OR I can just do the button placket things. The thrift stores in Seattle have really great selections. There is a giant Goodwill about 1 mile from my house where I regularly find killer clothes, often with the tags still on. The last time I was there I found a red Banana Republic trench coat that had never been worn. The thrifting I’ve done in San Diego has been less satisfying, although the Buffalo Exchange in Hillcrest can have some solid finds. Sometimes it feels like Buffalo Exchange is just a resell store for Forever 21, though… but I digress. YES – Refashion Clothes! A really simple way to update something is to switch out cheap buttons for nicer ones. It can make an outfit look super luxe, and only takes about 15 minutes (plus the time to shop for buttons, which, if the store has an overwhelming selection, can take me all day.) No sewing machine required!

  3. Chris

    I was thinking Human Centipede and then Bruce beat me to it. Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

