Mess with the bull, you get the horns.

I’m on the hunt for the perfect knee-high boots…I’m having no success. Can you please post a blog about this stat? Many Thanks! Medium heel to flat-like riding boots. Black, Brown. from Jessica M.

Whenever I tell people that I moved to Seattle from San Diego, they get this concerned look on their face and say something sad about the weather. I’ll pull my coat in a little tighter and say “it rains more in Miami, you know.” and they quietly pat me on my shoulder and say, “I’m sure it does.” The awesome thing about living here is that I can finally wear boots. I have six pair of boots, and I wear all of them! Yay cold weather!

Make a Knockin' Boots joke. You know you want to.

So – back to Jessica’s question. Let’s all agree that The Breakfast Club has been our fashion guide at one point or another. We’re each a brain, an athlete, a princess, a basketcase, and a criminal, right? I let our favorite gang of detainees help me decide what Jessica wants. What say you, you ragtag pack of misfits?

1. Brian Mercanti Florentini Belladona $299.95. 2. Restricted Gallop Riding Boot $64.94. 3. Diane Von Furstenberg Wedge $498. 4. Hunter Champray Wedge $175. I'm in the math club.

1. Born Sosle Tall Riding Boot $179.95..2. Born Annarella $99.95. 3. Envy Stretchy Boot $99.95 If I lose my temper you're totaled, man.

1. Miz Mooz Bloom $199.95. 2. Kalso Earth Prance Boot $224.95. 3. Sorel Crazy Cabel Wedge $319.95. I can go to the mountains. I could go to Israel, Africa, Afghanistan.

1. Ron White Deidre Boot $945 2. Ralph Loren Hannie Boot $1100. 3. Vince Camuto Farrow $209.95. 4. Matisse Thunder Over the Knee $269.95. 5. Kate Spade New York Darya $498. 6. Aquatherm Deena 2 $79.95. Do you know how popular I am? I am so popular. Everybody loves me so much at this school.

1. Miz Mooz Kira Riding Boot $219.95. 2. Bed Stu Kitty Buckle Boot $249.94. 3. Aldo Monforte Buckle $195. 4. Frye Vera Slouch $357.95. 5. Enzo Angiolini Saylem Riding Boot $149.95. 6. Miz Mooz Paz $199.95. Does Barry Manilow know that you raid his wardrobe?

1. Princess Jeffrey Campbell Rockferry Boot $189.95. 2. J. Renee Dakota $199.95. You just bought yourself another Saturday.

About dhanamura

When I was ten years old, I owned a mustard yellow sequined dress that I got at a garage sale. I stuffed it with rolled tube socks so that I would look more glamorous. That year I also got my first bottle of Chanel No. 5. I felt beautiful in my room, in that dress, smelling like Chanel. What you wear matters. It makes you feel things... or helps you to express things you already feel. Your feet aren't firmly planted on the ground, they are crammed into a pair of shoes. Love those shoes, or take them off.

14 responses to “Mess with the bull, you get the horns.

  1. Judd Nelson #1 is such a beautiful boot. It’s vaguely reminiscent of bondage but not, “Hey! I bought this at The Crypt” sort of way but more like “Hey, don’t mess with me unless you want to be messed with.” It’s also very feminine, unlike #4 which says “I clomp around very loudly through the hallways so you’ll notice me and part ways… not out of respect but more because I might smell like a horse.”

    So I need some rules on boots since I asking for them for Christmas. When is it appropriate to pair a boot with a skirt. Tuck in pants or don’t tuck in pants? I never understood wearing boots and then pulling pants down over them… why not wear shoes then?

    • dhanamura

      Judd’s #1s are from Nordstrom. http://shop.nordstrom.com/s/miz-mooz-kira-riding-boot/3167521?origin=keywordsearch&resultback=0
      I used to date a guy who was a volunteer fireman, and occasionally I would run around wearing his fireman boots and a bikini. I felt that I was bringing together the two foxiest fashion concepts in the universe with that outfit. One time I did that while also wearing a cowboy hat. Sexy Trifecta. So the #4 boots resonated with me, as they sort of have that vaguely Fireman Boot shape.
      You are the second person to ask me about boot tucking. This will be addressed in the coming week! Thanks for the great comments – it makes blogging so much more fun when you are here.

  2. Jessica

    LOVE Miz Mooz Kira Riding Boot $219.95. and Bed Stu Kitty Buckle Boot $249.94!

    Where can I find them? Endless.com?

    Thanks Deb!

  3. Jessica

    I’ve narrowed it down to 14!!! How do I show them to you?

  4. Laurie

    These Frye “Melissa Button” are the best flat boots- even if you have big, er, muscular calves, they will fit around a pair of slim jeans or leggings. Plus they zip up the back so they’re not hard to get on! And come in lots of colors.

    http://www.zappos.com/frye-melissa-button-back-zip

    p.s. you have a lot of boots!!!!

  5. Lynnea Fleming

    I’ve never heard of this miss mooz before but I really like both pairs of boots from them! what cute styles!! thanks for posting about boots; it’s really hard to find a pair of tall boots for those of us with little chicken legs. so, any help is appreciated!!

    • dhanamura

      I’d never heard of them either, but they have totally cute stuff! It seems like Frye boots have been accepted as the universal standard for great boots (and they are great – I have a pair that I wear year-round) but it’s nice to see another brand with consistently great style. And boots are perfect for chicken legs!

  6. a post about boots. your blog just made it into my inner google reader circle. and you break it out with an easy-to-follow scheme. this is just a matrix of win. can i special request a follow up?

    what’s the boot to wear for a brain basketcase trying on the criminal’s jacket? furthermore, what’s that jacket?

  7. Lara

    Horray! I have outlaw #5 and I pretty much wear them every day (including the last 2 times I saw you) Does this mean I’m a cool badass?

    • dhanamura

      I had such a crush on Judd Nelson. And I am kind of crushing on you, so this is no shock at all. You looked way cute at Etta’s, and I had the overwhelming urge to give you a diamond earring. It all makes sense!

  8. Jessica

    Earth shoes are awesome. For the rare vegie/vegan out there, there’s http://www.kalsoearthshoes.com/p-41-the-elite-too.aspx. These may just be my next boots. They no longer carry the shorter plaid rainboots that I have. They are awesome.
    I can’t get over the sock over the boot look. Deb, help me out her. Sell me

Leave a Reply

