I’m a bag lady! Shopping for Erin.

I have a wall of shoes, but I only have one handbag in active use (there are about five in the archives). So when I buy a bag, it’s a big deal, because I use that bag every day for at least a year. I rarely switch it out because when I do, I’m guaranteed to lose my drivers license or lipstick. I simply cannot be trusted with the transfer of my wallet from one purse to another and then back again.

So when Erin and I were eating quiche and gabbing over italian sodas, she said:

Debbie (she calls me Debbie), I need you to help me find a new handbag.

And I accepted the challenge.

I shopped for Erin with the expectation that this bag would work for her all year long, like a faithful friend. The Warhorse of handbags, if you will. (the ads for that movie make me cry like an idiot.)

Erin’s a petite powerhouse with a blond Michelle Williams ish pixy cut. She’s humble about her sense of style, but she does a great job of pairing well-cultivated, classic shapes with artsy twists and a hint of luxe.Β  I needed to find a bag that is streamlined and doesn’t block her frame, can blend with her varied wardrobe, and offers a hint of luxury. Erin sometimes carries a clutch inside of a larger bag (the Nesting Doll method), and she travels a LOT. Fun Shopping Challenge!

Let’s take a look at the results, shall we?

handbags, coach, michael kors, burberry, kate spade

1. Alexis Hudson “Chris” iPad Case $90 2.Elliott Luca Cordoba Clutch $98 3. Hobo International ‘Vintage Leanne’ Leather Crossbody Bag $148 4. Michael Kors Gia Leather Satchel $795 5. Michael Kors Gia Leather Satchel $895 6. Burberry Patent Leather Shopper $795 7. Kate Spade Flicker Melinda $345 8. COACH Madison Patent Demi $178 9. COACH Kristin Leather Hippie $258

I’ve been obsessed with patent leather since I was 10 years old. God- remember these? I loved those shoes!! I even decorate in the equivalent of patent leather, which is lacquer. I have a white lacquer dining table, a red lacquer desk… but I digress.Β  So #7 seems theΒ  most delicious to me… Shiny! The shape and color of #5 could also keep me warm on a cold winter night.

What say you?

About dhanamura

When I was ten years old, I owned a mustard yellow sequined dress that I got at a garage sale. I stuffed it with rolled tube socks so that I would look more glamorous. That year I also got my first bottle of Chanel No. 5. I felt beautiful in my room, in that dress, smelling like Chanel. What you wear matters. It makes you feel things... or helps you to express things you already feel. Your feet aren't firmly planted on the ground, they are crammed into a pair of shoes. Love those shoes, or take them off.

10 responses to “I’m a bag lady! Shopping for Erin.

  1. Now I want Doc Martens. And I would buy them if you promised never to come back to San Diego because if I bought them and you caught me with them, I’d be dead.

    I always worry about buying white leather and have it not look dirty for whole year.

    Probably my favorite is the Kate Spade. Not a surprise since I like her as a designer. And I think it incorporates everything you said about Erin.

    But I can’t even FATHOM spending this much on a bag. Even if I’m keeping it for a year.

    • dhanamura

      If you wore those doc martens with a baby doll dress, plucked eyebrows, and dark red lipstick, I would probably hug you, pretend that it was 1992, and force you to watch Heathers with me.

      Regarding white bags: I swear by them. I think they are chic, and I love how effortlessly they go with any outfit. If you get a high quality bag, they should be able to take the wear and tear and be easy to clean.

      At present I’m rocking a Kate Spade Stevie in white patent leather. Aside from the fact that it is HUGE (I could fit a ham leg in there) It’s doing great. I’ve also had a couple of white hobo bags from COACH in white that have totally lasted. Come to think of it, I had a green COACH bag that didn’t do as well as the white ones.

      Short story long, don’t be afraid of white purses. They are awesome.

      The one that I had the biggest emotional reaction to was actually #3. It looked like a bag that was destined to be in the permanent heirloom archives that I leave to my daughter when she heads off to New York to be a hand model.

  2. In love with #5 and #8. Although #7 is pretty great too πŸ™‚

    • dhanamura

      I would be totes stoked to own #5 for sure (see what I did there?). It makes sense that it comes from Michael Kors, given that they are both orange and leathery… and AWESOME.

  3. Jessica

    Deb, can I get your opinion on this:
    http://susannichole.com/store/gia-in-black-black-p-693.html
    This is the only vegan handbag designer that I’ve come across. I own cassidy in green (love, but not for daily use due to color). I also have one of her wallets that’s no longer on the site. Non-leather wallets and purses that are not hemp or canvas can be really difficult to find πŸ™‚

    • dhanamura

      I never would have pegged you for a black/studs kind of girl! And I encourage you to reconsider the green bag for daily use – wearing a pop of color in your handbag is a great way to add interest to your outfit. I never buy brown or black bags because I think that other colors can actually go with more stuff sometimes. I have a very broad opinion that all solid colors go together (which I am sure could successfully be challenged), which is why I was comfortable carrying a sage green bag for most of last year. Got tons of compliments. Give it a shot!

      I’m going to do some research for you on vegan handbags and see what I come up with. I have a friend who just opened a planet-conscious show and accessories shop in North Park, called Elos shoes. You should totally check it out, and let Lisa (the owner) know that I sent you. She’s amazing. She carries vegan saucony originals and some hemp shoes.

      Stay tuned!

      • Jessica

        black with studs – this is me branching out πŸ™‚ Me and bags that even look like leather is a new thing.
        I will pull out my green bag and use it for awhile. I do wear solids together a lot. I think it works most of the time.
        Elos needs more information on their website. Like hours πŸ™‚ But i will totally go check it out.

      • dhanamura

        Try the green and send me a pic! Elos: totally. They just had their grand opening a month ago, and as an All American Small Business, they’ve been busting buns to get everything together. I’ll pass your suggestion along to Lisa!

  4. Pingback: Carry your own keys. Weighing in on the Man Purse « Buzz Deb

Leave a Reply

