Carry your own keys. Weighing in on the Man Purse

There are few things as controversial as the man purse (aka the Murse, aka The Man Satchel. Not aka, but should be aka as The Man Sack). Let’s weigh in.

Joey Friends man bag purse

Reasons why you should love the man purse

  • The man in your life can carry his own keys and sunglasses.
  • It is a sign of masculine confidence.
  • He’s probably European so you can finally experience an uncircumcised penis.

Reasons why you should hate the man purse

  • Is he prissy? God. If he gets pedicures too, then this is too much.
  • You will constantly have to defend it.
  • He’s probably European so you can finally experience an uncircumcised penis.

Man Purse FAQ:

Is a messenger bag a man purse? That depends. If he’s got his laptop in there, it’s a messenger bag. If he’s got Kiehl’s lip balm in it, it’s a purse.

Portuguese soccer star, Cristiano Ronaldo, likes to carry his hand sanitizer in a Gucci clutch

How can I tell if my man purse is the right size? iI needs to be to the scale of your body, and shouldn’t be so big that it causes back problems. With the abundance of mobile devices that we are starting to carry, it should be at least large enough to carry your iPad 3 (or whatever tablet you carry – Seattle people are very quick to defend other tablets… let’s not get political, folks.)

I think that Sir Kingsley rocked this bag. See? It can be done!

Where can I find a badass man purse? There are actually a ton of them on etsy. I also like the Mismo Flap Top Rucksack. It’s $555.00, so there’s that to consider. Bruce loves Timbuk2, but I think those are messenger bags and not man purses because of the material that they use. I’m an authority on the subject, because I have this blog. UPDATE: Our friends at elos shoes just got a shipment of great Man Bags. San Diego peeps should buy their bags from Lisa Greshko of elos!

Man Bag

Is it okay to date a guy who carries a man purse? Sure. Especially if he spear fishes and wears linen shirts. But he has to be cool about it. If he’s all “What? this? It’s just my Man Bag, so DEAL WITH IT!!” then he’s weird and you should break up with him. Also, break up with him if he’s Kanye West.

Is it okay for my man to wear Crocks? Are you kidding me with this question? No.

This is just the tip of the iceberg for this subject – want to dig deeper? Check out The Satchel Pages. it’s the self-proclaimed “Home of the Man Purse.” If The Satchel Pages isn’t enough for you, I’ve made a board on Pinterest. Check it before you wreck it.

If you are a lady bag lady, then check out the previous post where I went shopping for Erin’s handbag.

About dhanamura

When I was ten years old, I owned a mustard yellow sequined dress that I got at a garage sale. I stuffed it with rolled tube socks so that I would look more glamorous. That year I also got my first bottle of Chanel No. 5. I felt beautiful in my room, in that dress, smelling like Chanel. What you wear matters. It makes you feel things... or helps you to express things you already feel. Your feet aren't firmly planted on the ground, they are crammed into a pair of shoes. Love those shoes, or take them off.

3 responses to “Carry your own keys. Weighing in on the Man Purse

  1. Jessica

    AB needs a murse. With the amount of crap he carries, he actually ruins pants. Plus, there’s the “hey can you put this in your purse?” NO.

  2. Lara

    I’m happy to carry a dude’s keys if that is the alternative to having him carry a murse!

Leave a Reply

