Confessions, redemption, and learning.

What does everyone who cleans out closets tell you?

If you haven’t worn it in a year, get rid of it.

There were four items in my closet that I hadn’t worn in over a year, but I couldn’t bring myself to get rid of them. So this week I challenged myself to wear each item at least once,  and then I would have to make a decision to either start wearing it or get rid of it.

I should have taken pictures. But I was in a hurry to get to work, and when I get home I move so quickly to get into my sweatpants that I’m blurry. Lucky for you, I have a junior starter water color kit. So I’ve documented each of the outfits in my own special way. Let’s discuss.

Monday: Statement necklace

Monday

I wore it with a navy blue turtle neck and some leopard flats.

I locked eyes with this necklace while digging through a clearance sale. It was before statement necklaces became all the rage, and I had simultaneously filed it under “too fancy for my life” and “my one true love.” So despite the fact that I never wore it, I couldn’t look at it without remembering that moment when I first saw it and my heart skipped a beat. It is made of two rows of teardrop shaped purple “jewels” (?), strung together by a gold chain, and then tied around the neck with a purple satin ribbon.

A coworker gave me a thumbs up, and I decided to keep it.

Tuesday: Skinny Belt

    I wore it with a grey pinstriped, high waisted pencil skirt and a red turtle neck.

I wore it with a grey pinstriped, high waisted pencil skirt and a red turtle neck.

Belts are the books of my wardrobe. Why is it so difficult for me to get rid of one? This reversible belt is black on one side and brown on the other. Two belts in one! I never wear it because despite how awesome it is, it’s made of plastic and it’s stiff. Plus I lean toward bigger belts, which I am convinced make me look rich and fancy.

It is not going to make the cut. This skirt is exactly the right compliment for this belt, and I didn’t fall back in love with it. This belt is dead to me now.

Wednesday: Black Dress

I wore this with ribbed tights and black and white oxfords. I felt like I was a high fashion model in 2002 (which is awesome).

I wore this with ribbed tights and black and white oxfords. I felt like I was a high fashion model in 2002 (which is awesome).

I bought this black dress at Forever 21 a couple of years ago, and I’ve worn it twice. It’s a little short, and the waist is sort of high, even for this high waisted girl. I saw a picture in the latest JCrew catalog that inspired me to pair it with a crisp button down.

Screen shot 2013-01-17 at 10.22.05 PM

I still love the concept, but in execution, the dress just isn’t working out. So I’m going to get it tailored. I’m not ready to give up on it, but we can’t go on like this. We have to try something new if we are going to keep this love alive.

Thursday: High risk dress

I paired it with a mustard cardigan and plum shoes (that are amazing). I also strapped on a fab faux croc belt in a deep burgundy brown. It was a spicy earth tone party for one.

I paired it with a mustard cardigan and plum shoes (that are amazing). I also strapped on a fab faux croc belt in a deep burgundy brown. It was a spicy earth tone party for one.

I lost a bunch of weight a few years ago, and I got this dress on a day when I was feeling super sexy and unjiggly. It’s a flesh toned sheath. That is some risky shit. This dress betrays all your secrets. I’ve gotten jiggly again, and was worried that this dress would force me out of my state of denial. I haven’t worn it for about 2 years.

You know what? After two years of being afraid of what would happen when I put on this dress, it actually went pretty well. I do think it will look better if I tighten up my ass zone (which I will do RIGHT AFTER I am done blogging) but all in all, it’s back in favor. I felt sharp. Sexy. In charge. It’s a keeper!

Every time I cleaned out my closet and overlooked these items, I was really avoiding making a decision about something that I loved but feared. I faced my fears and had some fun along the way.

It was a fun experiment and it got me out of a rut. Try it for yourself and let me know what happens!

About dhanamura

When I was ten years old, I owned a mustard yellow sequined dress that I got at a garage sale. I stuffed it with rolled tube socks so that I would look more glamorous. That year I also got my first bottle of Chanel No. 5. I felt beautiful in my room, in that dress, smelling like Chanel. What you wear matters. It makes you feel things... or helps you to express things you already feel. Your feet aren't firmly planted on the ground, they are crammed into a pair of shoes. Love those shoes, or take them off.

2 responses to “Confessions, redemption, and learning.

  1. Lara

    Your ass zone is fine

Leave a comment