The skinny on bright jeans

Do not fear color, my friends. Make room for it in your closet. Exploit the visual bounty afforded by color blocking and the trend for neon. Mix red and pink. Upgrade your neutrals from grey to green. You are an exotic flower. Dress like one! Let’s talk pants!

I recently got this question via Facebook from Nicole:

What do you think about bright yellow jeans…are they really hot?

Yellow is definitely a hot color right now – If you check out my Fashion board on Pinterest, you’ll see an abundance of yellow. It’s the perfect color to break up the doldrums of Winter, but it’s a tough color to pull off. The advantage of yellow jeans over a yellow sweater is that jeans aren’t next to your face so people won’t fret that you are jaundiced. The disadvantage is that they probably make your butt look big (not that I don’ t love a big butt – no body shaming here!)

Here's one of my favorite big yellow butts.

Here are some tips for wearing colored jeans:

  • You’ll see lots of tables in the juniors departments that offer a rainbow of candy-colored denim. If you were born in the 90’s, then go ahead and check out that table. Otherwise, I implore you to shop with the rest of the grownups in your own department. You can find colored denim in grown up sizes at Jcrew, and Joe’s Jeans (which are worth the investment.) Joe’s offers a whopping 55 assorted denim colors.
  • Pair your fancy pants with gentle neutrals. Avoid black and lean towards camel, grey, and navy. My favorite for bright pants are emerald green and red. I like them paired with camel, leopard, and grey. Here are red pants paired with a chambray shirt. .

Shirt: Gap Chambray crochet-trim tunic $59 Pants: Rag and Bone Corduroy Skinny $176  Handbag: Kate Spade New York Flicker Monette in dark spearmint $$179 Bangle: Kate Spade Seaport Twisted Bangle $145 Flats: Mercanti Fiorentini Agila Leopard Flat $129

  • Layering can mellow the effect of your ass-tro brights (see what I did there?). Throw a sweater over a collared shirt, involve a scarf.

A layering example from A Longenecker Story

  • Look around – the great thing about a hot trend is that you have lots of chances to see it in action on other people. Check out EverybodyEverywear to see bright pants in action.

Bottom line, don’t be afraid of color. Further, look beyond denim and think about color in the rest of your wardrobe. Here are some examples of workplace color that I’m particularly keen on:

If you are trying to decide if you want to invest in a trend, check out my previous post for Morgan “Should I Spendy for Trendy?”

Props to:

 

 

About dhanamura

When I was ten years old, I owned a mustard yellow sequined dress that I got at a garage sale. I stuffed it with rolled tube socks so that I would look more glamorous. That year I also got my first bottle of Chanel No. 5. I felt beautiful in my room, in that dress, smelling like Chanel. What you wear matters. It makes you feel things... or helps you to express things you already feel. Your feet aren't firmly planted on the ground, they are crammed into a pair of shoes. Love those shoes, or take them off.

4 responses to “The skinny on bright jeans

  1. Pingback: Power Pants in Action « Buzz Deb

  2. Thank you for including me! Love the compilation- I think I need some hot pink jeans now. 🙂

  3. dhanamura

    Happy to do it, Della! Keep up the great blogging 🙂 And get those hot pink pants!

  4. Great and insightful post! I’m really into colored trousers too. Just pick myself up a pair at h&m yesterday!

Leave a comment